Hauptmenü | Haupttext | Sprachauswahl | Infoboxen


Historical facts

During centuries, the actual area of the district of Borken belonged quite completely to the bishopric of the principality of Münster. Being directly under the control of the German emperor, the supremacy of Anholt, the prince zu Salm-Salm was in the west and the supremacy of Gemen was in the north of Borken.

The existence of the bishopric of the principality ends with the general end of the empire deputation where the princes who lost property to France at the left hand of the Rhine were compensated with religious areas. The princes zu Salm-Salm and zu Salm-Kyrburg created from the authorities of Ahaus and Bocholt as well as Werth, the principality of Salm with a common government in Bocholt. Already 1806, the Wild- and Rhein earls [wild and Rhine earls] zu Salm-Grumbach must cede the authority of Horstmar which was devolved upon them to the grand duchy Berg. In the same year, Gemen went to Salm-Kyrburg.

To insure the Continental Blockade (an economic blockade against England), Napoleon ordered 1810, to declare the north of Germany and so, also Westmünsterland to French state territory. After the Battle of the Nations near Leipzig on 1813, the French people left the country in a hurry and Prussian overtook the administration temporary. During the Congress of Vienna the biggest part of Westphalia was adjudicated to the kingdom of Prussian, 1815. As a new unit of administration, the districts of Ahaus and Borken with 35.000 residents each, were created in Westmünsterland in 1816. This structure of administration left during more than 150 years in Westmünsterland. Only the city of Bocholt was retired from the district of Borken on 1923 and created an own city of district.

In the first step of communal reorganization, the number of municipalities was restricted - by voluntary alliances - in 1969. In a second Step 1975, further centralizations at the level of municipalities and the creation of the Westmünsterland districts of Borken from the former districts of Ahaus and Borken, the city of Bocholt that constitutes a district by its own as well as essentially Isselburg (of the district of Rees), Erle (of the district of Recklinghausen as part of Raesfeld) and Gesher (of the district of Coesfeld) follow. Dingden retired form the district of Borken and came as a part of the community of Hamminkeln to the district of Wesel.

The Emblem of the district of Borken that was created on 1975

Since the new creation of the district of Borken, Westmünsterland run through a remarkable change in many domains. A pronounced positive development of the population, a generally fortified structure of trade in spite of all problems, a clearly developed structure of education and traffic, intact natural scenery as well as a pronounced scene of culture are guarantees for excellent conditions of living and working in the district of Borken.